Holiday Lists

ATTENDANCE 

It is a legal requirement that your child attends school regularly between the ages of 5 and 16.  We are anxious that all students achieve their potential and so we expect all to attend school every day unless prevented from doing so by illness.  Absence from school inevitably affects a child’s progress since it means that important lessons, which may include preparation for examination assignments or the introduction of a new topic, for example, are missed.  We expect all students to have over 98% attendance and to aim for 100%

We follow a first day absence calling system which notifies parents via text messaging if a child does not attend school (please enter this number 01274 271196 into your mobile phone in order to recognise that any message received is from Hanson Academy) but we ask that you ring us in a morning if your child is unable to attend school on 01274 776200 before 8.30am. It is very important that we receive a telephone call each day that your child is absent.  We would ask that parent/carers keep us up to date with new phone numbers and changes of address. 

The attendance pattern of all students is monitored carefully and unsatisfactory attendance may be referred to our Education Welfare Officer. 

Parent/carers are asked to support teachers by insisting that their child copy up all work missed as a result of absence. 

All UNEXPLAINED ABSENCES will be recorded as UNAUTHORISED and may then be interpreted as TRUANCY.   

We would ask that parents/carers do not take family holidays during school time as breaks in learning hinder the progress of a child.  We will not authorise any holidays during term time without Principals acknowledgement of exceptional circumstances. You need to be aware that taking leave of absence in term time will result in a penalty notice being issued from Children’s Services.  The penalty notice fines of £60.00 are issued per parent per child, 21 days are allowed for the payment of £60.00 and if not paid the fine doubles to £120.00 and a further 7 days are allowed for payment.  If the penalty notice is not paid then Children’s Services may take the matter before the magistrate’s court and parents will be charged with failing to ensure their child’s regular attendance at school, this could result in a fine of up to £1000.00 per parent. 

School and public examinations take place for students during November, January, March, May and June for years 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13.  Please do not arrange family holidays at these times.

 

School Holidays 2016/17

2016
  Re-Open Tuesday 6th September
Staff Training Day Closed Thursday 6th October
Half Term Close Friday 21st October
  Re-Open Monday 31st October
Staff Training Day Closed Friday 9th December
Christmas Close Friday, 16th December
   
2017
 Re-Open Tuesday 3rd January
Half Term Close Thursday 16th February
Re-Open Monday 27th February
EasterClose Friday 7th April
Re-Open Monday 24th April
Close Friday 28th April
Mayday Closed Monday 1st May
  Re-Open Tuesday 2nd May
Half Term Close Friday 26th May
 Re-Open Monday, 5th June
Summer Close Tuesday 25th July
     
Staff Inset Days    
Monday 5th September 2016
Thursday 6th October 2016
Friday 9th December 2016
Friday 17th February 2017
Friday 28th April 2017

  

Documents